The No. 1 Gymnastics Podcast in the Galaxy

Behind The Scenes: Women’s Team Finals

Welcome to Behind The Scenes!

BTS is a weekly Q&A podcast just for club gym nerd members! We’re providing daily coverage after each day of competition during the 2020 Tokyo Olympics! It’s our appreciation love letter to club members for supporting the show. Here’s how to ask questions live.

Today our instant takes from watching an entire day of women’s team finals!

Please login to your Club Gym Nerd account to listen and/or watch this episode. Not a member? Join here.

 

19 COMMENTS

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
19 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Kirstan Watson
Gym Nerd
Kirstan Watson(@kirstan-watson)
5 months ago

Simone’s statement from the other day makes SO much sense now.

Andrea Kells
Gym Nerd
Andrea Kells(@andrea-kells)
5 months ago

First I’m so proud of the team for bringing home silver and hope Simone is ok – if she does scratch other finals would that add jade to AA (along with suni), Myk to vault, Myk to beam, Jordan to floor and jade to bars finals?

Kate Maben
Kate Maben(@kate-maben)
5 months ago
Reply to  Andrea Kells

It would add Jade to AA, Myk to vault, Melanie De Jesus Dos Santos to Bars, Hirakawa to beam, and Gadirova to floor. It only goes to an American if they were two-per countries out of the finals, otherwise it goes to the next highest scoring athlete from qualifications

Andrea Kells
Gym Nerd
Andrea Kells(@andrea-kells)
5 months ago
Reply to  Kate Maben

Thank you! Got a little over eager for the US there 🙂

Patricia Palencia
Patricia Palencia(@patricia-palencia)
5 months ago
Reply to  Kate Maben

Skinner posted on her IG story that she was supposed to fly home to the US today. I thought she would have been allowed to stay 24 hrs before the vault final on Aug 1 as 1st reserve?

clarindamcfadden
clarindamcfadden(@clarindamcfadden)
5 months ago
Reply to  Kate Maben

I hope they get to do it since Simone doesn’t want to be there

Nina Morrissette
Nina Morrissette(@nina-morrissette)
5 months ago

Great podcast!! I would love to see Laurie as a commentator instead of Nastia. She is so much more real and relatable and has a lot of personality, which is greatly needed. Love to Simone and all the women on the US team!

Joy A Scott
Gym Nerd
Joy A Scott(@joy-a-scott)
5 months ago

Can we explain Suni’s 7.9 Execution score? What am I missing?

Elyse Fairchild
Elyse Fairchild(@elyse-fairchild)
5 months ago

What’s the issue with Nastia? I like her!

woodtrio
Gym Nerd
woodtrio(@woodtrio)
5 months ago

I like her for the most part but can’t get on board with her doing high fashion outfits to commentate. Like Tim’s not coming in a tuxedo!!

Allison Meza
Allison Meza(@allison-meza)
5 months ago
Reply to  woodtrio

I like her but was super disappointed by the narrative she perpetuated on the prime time broadcast tonight. She should know better.

clarindamcfadden
clarindamcfadden(@clarindamcfadden)
5 months ago
Reply to  woodtrio

She can wear whatever she wants! I think it’s fun. Maybe Tim should come in a tuxedo

Kristin Judd
Gym Nerd
Kristin Judd(@kristin-judd)
5 months ago

Wow! What a performance for Team USA. They did great considering the circumstances. Hope Simone is okay and taking care of herself. I have hope for the future events.

Alana Carr
Alana Carr(@alana-carr)
5 months ago

Would it kill you to guys to say one nice thing about Grace?

Björn Ásgeir Guðmundsson
Björn Ásgeir Guðmundsson(@bjorn-asgeir-gudmundsson)
5 months ago

Ugh listening to the Icelandic broadcast was so annoying!! The male presenter talked about how social media and tiktok were making the U.S women’s team unfocused and was basically shaming them for being fame seeking and unfocused. HELLO Simone has been the best female gymnast since 2013, she is 24 years old and one of the best athletes ever, I think she knows how to concentrate. He didn’t even mention the situation Jordan is in and how hard it must be to compete in the Olympics during this time. GAAH I’m just so annoyed by the icelandic presenters treatment of the U.S womens team and I hope they dont get the same comments elsewhere.

Billie Patton
Gym Nerd
Billie Patton(@billie-patton)
5 months ago

Make Simone Biles and Ally Raisman co-team coordinators!!!!!

Stand in a Lunge
Gym Nerd
Stand in a Lunge(@giulietta-driver)
5 months ago

I was SO devastated for Simone and then muted the BBC commentary. Forster needs to be fired immediately. MY GOD Grace and the hits, Jordan is an actual superhero, and Suni is STUNNING AT ALL OF IT. Then… LOVED Gelya’s floor. And can’t see any GB footage of them winning bronze without crying with Alice. All the hate she got then booom. Feelings

Alycia S
Gym Nerd
Alycia S(@alycia-scott)
5 months ago

Did I miss it, did Jess ever share the Hoda story??

Jessica N Wolf
Gym Nerd
Jessica N Wolf(@jessica-n-wolf)
5 months ago

Someone on Reddit (Austentatious88) commented re: Lori “for the record, I didn’t like anything that Marta’s spouse said or did in public either.” **Slow clap**.

Also, Jessica, your timing of (rightly!) defending your journalistic integrity IMMEDIATELY being followed by bidet troubleshooting is my favorite thing. You are a treasure.

Other episodes

Join the club!

19
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x