Gymnastics Therapists Unite

22 Posts
15 Users
7 Likes
GymCastic
(@gymcastic)
Produnova's Eyebrow Admin
Topic starter  

We've had several therapists reach out who've wanted to connect with other gym nerds. So here's the thread for you. Happy connecting. 

Topic Tags
(@magseb5)
Kindergym

Not a therapist, but school counselor in ohio! Any other school counselors?

ReplyQuote
(@kelly)
Kindergym

Hello gymnerds!  I'm Kelly and I'm a school psychologist in Florida!

ReplyQuote
(@daniel-becker)
Kindergym

Hi all! Therapist/clinical social worker at MIT (LCSW in the state of MA) here! I specialize in identity (race, queerness) and sexuality; and due to my population I focus a lot on high performance anxiety, so considering therapeutic work in a setting like USAG sounds fascinatingggg.

ReplyQuote
(@foodmoodsnyc)
Kindergym

Hi! Child clinical psychologist in NYC here. I've always been a casual gymnastics fan but this podcast/community is for sure helping me grow in my baby gymnerdhood!

ReplyQuote
(@beach03me)
Kindergym

Hi all! Just some tips for those interested in sports within the behavioral health field, if you're not aware of them 🙂 - 

I'm an MFT (marriage and family therapist) and I am a member of the Alliance of Social Workers in Sports. You don't have to be a social worker to join, just someone in the field, and being on the email list will get you tons of job listings, clinical Q&As, and other news regularly. They also have programs for certification in sports social work, and their upcoming annual conference this year is in New Orleans (fun!). Highly recommended! It's at www.aswis.org. Also, I am the Program Coordinator of Courage First, the new toll-free national athlete helpline run by Childhelp, who runs the National Child Abuse Hotline. I'm clearly biased, but it's a great resource to refer anyone you work with - www.athletehelpline.org or 1-888-279-1026. Vanessa Atler did a really nice post on it a few months ago on IG and TikTok. 

ReplyQuote